2007 is going to be great. Wait and see

Today, at work, my coworkers asked me “Hey, Trudy, did you know that today is Tolkien’s Birthday?”

I gleefully said “Yep, and here’s how we celebrate it in Middle Earth. At exactly 9 p.m., you raise whatever the heck you’re drinking, say “the professor” and finish your drinkie.”

Needless to say, I amused myself for several minutes accosting coworkers in the stacks asking “So…whatcha doin’ tonight? Oh…say… ninish?”

“Toasting to the professor…now stop the madness,” some of them would ocasionally say.

“Damn right you are!” I’d reply, only mildly drunk with power.

As I sit, post-solitary toast, sipping my lovely pint of Guinness, I think of all I have to look forward to this year:

There will be THREE books published this year:

[i]Tolkien and Shakespeare: Essays on Shared Themes and Language[/i]s by Janet Brennan Croft this March; The greatly anticipated [i]Children of Hurin[/i] by J.R.R. Tolkien (edited by Christopher Tolkien and Illustrated by Alan Lee) to be published this April ; and [i]Ring of Words: Tolkien and the Oxford English Dictionary[/i] by Edmund Weiner to be published this August. I’m trying to arrange a launch reception for Children of Hurin. Houghton-Mifflin is a tough nut to crack, but then, so was the Music Box đŸ˜‰ .

The scheduled readings will also begin. For the first time in a great while I’ll have the chance to discuss [i]The Lord of the Rings[/i] with people who share my love for the book. Depending on how things go, I hope to do a reading of [i]The Hobbit[/i] as well. I look forward to this more than anything. To sit and discuss my favorite books with such excellent and estimable Middle Earthlings will be my personal pleasure.

On the film front, two Beowulf adaptations are scheduled this year.

couple of Films on the Beowulf Front:
http://us.imdb.com/title/tt0442933/
The Robert Zemeckis film that features Angelina Jolie, Crispin Glover and John Malkovitch

http://us.imdb.com/title/tt0455348/
and Beowulf Prince of the Geats which is cast entirely with unknowns

Information on both of these films is sketchy.

I’ve never been more excited to be a fan than I am this year. I look forward to enjoying all these things with you. Thanks so much for hanging out with me and thanks so much to our beloved “professor.”

Fare well wherever you fare,

Trudy

Leave a Reply

